Third regional ACAP implementation plan produced for the South Atlantic

Three island groups, Tristan da Cunha, Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)* and South Georgia (Islas Georgia del Sur)*, in the South Atlantic region are breeding range states for 12 of the 29 species currently listd by ACAP, three of which are breeding endemics in the Tristan da Cunha islands.

Two regional action plans for these island groups have been previously published electronically, for the Tristan da Cunha group (including Gough Island) and for the Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)* (to access click here).

The third ACAP Implementation Plan for South Georgia (Islas Georgia del Sur)* (click here for the PDF) summarises the current status of ACAP-related work in the island group, and provides a prioritised programme of future work.  Each of the main sections of the plan includes a summary of ACAP requirements, which have been drawn from the text of the Agreement and its Action Plan, an overview of current work related to these requirements, and a list of recommended actions.

Click here for an earlier news story with a link to the Tristan da Cunha implementation plan.

With thanks to Anton Wolfaardt for information.

John Cooper, ACAP Information Officer, 1 December 2010

*A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas), South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (Islas Georgias del Sur y Islas Sandwich del Sur) and the surrounding maritime areas.

The Agreement on the
Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels

ACAP is a multilateral agreement which seeks to conserve listed albatrosses, petrels and shearwaters by coordinating international activity to mitigate known threats to their populations.

About ACAP

ACAP Secretariat

119 Macquarie St
Hobart TAS 7000

Tel: +61 3 6165 6674